Ruby Ramblings


To Nowhere and Back
April 11, 2010, 7:48 am
Filed under: Books | Tags:

To Nowhere and Back

One book down. I have to admit to some hesitancy about this book after all these years. I was afraid of missing out on the magic that I felt so many times as a kid reading it. But it didn’t let me down, it really is a fantastic little story. The author, Margaret Anderson, is a biologist who got the idea to write this book in 1972 while staying at a cottage in England called “Random.” Random plays an important role in this book as the starting point to the main character’s, Elizabeth, ability to travel back in time and become one with a little girl her same age.

There is so much more to this book than I recognized when I was elementary school. One of the main themes of the book is Elizabeth’s realization that her life is actually quite wonderful and privileged after spending time as Ann and being denied the right to go to school. She also works at ten years old as a kitchen maid in her uncle’s inn.

There is a point where she has a change of heart about her life, and really starts to understands Ann’s time and troubles.

“But there was a drudgery and the poverty and the cold and the hunger. And there was ignorance. Ignorance went beyond not knowing how to read and write. It meant knowing nothing outside your own life. It meant not having the doctor come when you were sick. It caused fear – an evil kind of fear.”

An idea that never seems to become irrelevant no matter how advanced the world becomes.

The copy I have now is stamped as being added to the library collection in 1978, the year before I was born. It’s the same edition I used to read as a kid – the kind where the cover photo is printed right on the hardcover instead of having a jacket. I think that used to be common for library editions of books. Anyway, it was a pleasure old friend.

Pages read: 141
Charity: Child Upliftment Center

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

awwwwww……

Comment by bybee

I just found this post while Googling reviews of this book (a favorite of mine as a child.) It reminds me how much I used to love it. I’ll definitely grab my copy next time I go to my parents’ place 🙂

Comment by notcookie




Leave a Reply

